How Does My Garden Grow?

North Texas has more than one growing season and this year I wanted to take advantage of both of them. Mid June through late August it’s a matter of keeping vegetables and plants watered enough to keep them alive. Then in September everything really starts growing again and producing. Vegetables like peppers and beans produce well right up to our frost date, usually the second week in November.

Spring Setting up

Spring Setting up

 

Tomato cages made from Bamboo

Tomato cages made from Bamboo

 

4 tomatoes I got before the squirrels attached.

4 tomatoes I got before the squirrels attached.

SAM_0885

Yellow and butternut squash and young peppers.

This year I planted butternut and yellow squash, tomatoes, peppers (bell of various colors), jalapeno, poblano, banana, and other sweet peppers. By mid june the squash were gone and I replanted with okra, basil, more peppers.  The butter beans and Kentucky wonder green beans were slowly climbing on the fence but no produce until this past month.

Poblano

Poblano

sweet pepper

sweet pepper

Bell Pepper

Bell Pepper027securedownload

018

Beans take over!

020 (2)10556506_10204360311961931_90813307666198847_n

okra

okra

pineapple sage and basil

pineapple sage and basil

 

Keeping up with freezing butter beans, string beans, and peppers is daily work. Last year I made lots of green pepper jams and jellies as well as fruit jams and jellies.

Do you grow a garden?  If so what made you decide to do so?

6 thoughts on “How Does My Garden Grow?

  1. Pat, thanks so much for commenting. Each year I say I’m not going to plant so much but I do love the taste of fresh vegetables. It took me a while to decide to do a fenced garden, but last year squirrels, armadillos, possums, and birds really took all of the produce. This year, I saturated cotton balls with fox urine and placed them on golf tees every few feet around the base of the garden. I believe that helped a lot

    Like

  2. I use a snip-n-clip garden row soak-er system. You can purchase it at gardeners.com. I put a programer on my faucet which automatically turns on the water twice a day for 30 minutes. It keeps them alive otherwise with our twice a week sprinkler watering restriction they would all die. They really thrive once the temperature drops.

    Like

Leave a Reply

