Seize Happiness Right Now

cups

I have a whole cabinet full of china that I inherited from my mother-in-law. She inherited it from her mother and kept it for special occasions. Recently, I started going through some of the china and realized I don’t think I ever ate from those dishes once. Which is really a shame. In fact my personal china chosen when I got married has landed in that same category. Once a year if I was at home on Thanksgiving or Christmas I might bring the fancy china out and use it for that special day. These fine pieces of china can’t be put in the dishwasher, though that’s not why I wasn’t using that special china.

Saving our best china, prettiest table-cloth and good silver “for special occasions or company” is something I grew up with. But I wonder if it’s a useful strategy any more? So I’ve changed that today. The fancy china will come out at least once a week.
Here’s the thing:
I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately. The only place joy or happiness exist are in the present moment. Are you really making the most of your life today? When we live for “when I get a better job” or “when the kids are older” or “when the mortgage is paid off” we defer our happiness. We throw our energy forwards. We are not living with  happiness in the here and now if it’s potential.

None of us know what tomorrow will bring. We only have today to make the most of our life. If there’s somewhere you want to visit do it now.

I make a habit of traveling to places I want to see, taking courses I want to take, indulging in my gardening, working on  a book I want to write. I don’t wait until next year. If there’s something that will make you happy like getting a new pet then go out and do it. Right Now.970_4379927750386_879151861_n

 

 

Today is actually all we really have.  What makes you happy?

Buddy

Buddy, the Boykin Spaniel

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Seize Happiness Right Now

  1. hey there! i’m loving your recent posts!
    I also blogged about wandering in the streets of Georgetown, Penang Island in Malaysia. Colonial Houses, Authentic Food, Street Arts and many more is what I have discovered!

    here’s what my recent post is all about…
    https://talkaboutbeauty.wordpress.com/2014/06/23/wandering-in-the-streets-of-georgetown/

    what do you think of old towns/ houses? have you been to a place like Georgtown before? what place is it?

    would be so nice to hear from you! 🙂

    cheers! xx

    deanna ( http://www.talkaboutbeauty.wordpress.com )

    Like

  2. Animals, making my mother laugh, having a cup of tea with my sister and a quiet moment, and spending time with my niece and nephew…….just to name a few.

    Like

Leave a Reply

