Kathryn Jane: It’s All About Characters

It’s such a pleasure to interview Kathryn Jane on my blog. I met Kathy through the RWA Kiss of Death Critique Group Lethal Ladies and had the opportunity to read a chapter or two of her newest book. If you have a question or a comment, please leave it at the end of the post.~~~

Kathryn, thank you so much for this interview. Tell me, what sparked the idea for your latest book Touch Me?TouchMe_300DPI_2500Pixels_Height (2)

I have no idea.  But I did know from the beginning that Grace and Logan would have much more than a telepathic connection.

What is your preparation for writing? (Do you develop characters first? How did you go from initial idea to a full blown novel?)

All my books start with a character and a scene. When Grace popped into my head, she was at a fancy affair, fighting a panic attack brought on by a song. I opened a new word document, put my hands on the keys, and was mesmerized by the story as it unfolded. I discover the characters as the words hit the page, as though they are born through my fingertips. Once the words The End are typed on the page, the work of rewriting and editing begins.

What is your favorite part of writing?

That first draft. Getting to know my characters, discovering things about them, having them surprise me when I think I know which fork in the road they’ll take and I’m wrong. Sometimes bits of storyline come to me when I’m driving or in the shower, both inconvenient times for jotting down notes.

What is your pet peeve in reading?

As a retired racehorse trainer, I hate when writers do a poor job of dealing with horses—just like I’m sure anyone hates errors made in a subject near and dear to them.

How likely are you to use people you know in your books.

Never. Mostly I write about people I’d like to hang out with. But I do use bits and pieces of both humans and animals I’ve known. For instance, Merlin the cat was fashioned after two barn cats I loved.

What are your plans for future books?

The next Intrepid Woman book is ‘Daring to Love’. Etcetera agents Liz and Galen have an intimate history—a mistake she’s not planning to repeat—until thrown together on the case of a runaway teenager. She’s an empath and he’s a telepath with a special talent for extracting information from the ladies.

A question for readers…

Do you have a favorite author of stories involving extra-sensory perception or magic? Do you read any of my favorites: Kay Hooper, Christine Feehan, Cherry Adair, or of course Nora Roberts? What about a favorite series or character?

TOUCH ME BLURB:

Telepathic abilities are a bitch and a blessing.

Shattered by the murder of her father, Grace has lost her passion for life, and swears she’ll never dance again. Until a telepathic connection with a stranger changes everything by awakening feelings, fears, and memories she can’t escape.

From the first moment Agent Logan hears Grace’s “touch me” in his head, he knows he can’t walk away from her cry for help. But reaching the intriguing woman who’s buried her feelings and abilities beneath an impenetrable armor requires all his gifts and then some.

Unveiling the secrets buried in Grace’s mind will allow her to live again, find love, and dance unless a forgotten promise costs her everything.

THE INTREPID WOMEN SERIES

Stubborn, self-sufficient women, and the men who dare to love them.

EXCERPT:

Grace shuddered as unbearable memories fought to surface.

She wrenched open the door and stepped into a whirling of unfamiliar energy.

Heart slamming against her ribs, she scanned the garage, saw the smooth concrete and shiny cars one would expect. She tipped her head, opened her senses, and listened carefully.

Nothing. Just nerves, she thought. Must beat the panic. Stay in control. Get to the car.

But the parking spot was empty—except for the sign on the wall she’d missed when she’d arrived. With a groan at her own stupidity, she scurried back to the elevator room and grabbed the doorknob. It refused to open. She circled to the other door, but it, too, was locked.

Frustration took the edge off her fear.

“Five floors below the flippin’ city and I have to walk out,” she muttered as she began the trek. Narrow spiked-heels assaulted the concrete with angry intent and echoes bounced, while a new tingling of awareness crawled up her spine

About Kathryn Jane:

DSC_0066 (2)

Kathryn Jane

   Award winning author Kathryn Jane is well-known for rising to a challenge whether it’s learning to fly, facing down cancer or being spot-lighted at a fundraising gala.

Her personal tales of adventure include misplacing a thoroughbred filly in a 747 at thirty thousand feet, planning the evacuation of fifty horses in the path of a wildfire, and being volunteered to represent her peers in a public speaking venue.

She writes about the kind of women she’d like to hang out with—smart, self-reliant, think on their feet women just as happy eating a loaded hot dog at a ballgame, as they are sipping champagne in the back of a limo. Women who laugh as hard as they cry, love good sweaty sex, don’t understand the appeal of perfection, and have secrets.

The heroes? Well, they’re tough, hot, inherently kind, and occasionally baffled by the women they dare to love.

Addicted to the Pacific Ocean, Kathryn lives on the west coast of Canada— with a couple of tuxedo cats, and a faithful Labrador to keep the man of her dreams company while she writes steamy stories of love and adventure.

Purchase Touch Me at Amazon.com

Contact Kathryn Jane:

blogs http://howtowriteabouthorses.blogspot.ca/

website http://kathrynjane.com/

twitter https://twitter.com/Author_Kat_Jane

facebook https://www.facebook.com/authorKathrynJane

Goodreads www.goodreads.com/author/show/7154663.Kathryn_Jane

13 thoughts on “Kathryn Jane: It’s All About Characters

    • Hey Ruby,

      It was a pleasure connecting with you and your readers, and again, I apologize for missing the comment button and taking so long to get back to everyone!

      Looking forward to hearing how your book is doing 🙂

      cheers!

      Like

  1. I’m more into thrillers like Vince Flynn used to write. I have read Shiloh Walker’s books, The Missing and The Departed, and liked them. Can’t say I’m a Norah Roberts fan.Good luck on your book, it sounds like a good book.

    Like

  2. You say your ideas come in scenes and you start writing. Do you have an idea where the story is going after the initial scene? Or do you start plotting from there? If not, do you write yourself into a corner and have a lot of restarts? I need structure and I have difficulty without it.

    Like

    • Hi Cal,

      I really don’t know where they may lead. Along the way, ideas just seem to happen and for me, it’s little different than reading a book. When a twist or turn occurs, I often find myself saying “so that’s why — she insisted on wearing red, or they took the mountain road, or her father never showed up for supper, etc.

      Once in a while I get an idea and think “oh yes, A is happening here because B is going to happen next” and more often than not, I’m wrong 🙂

      I did sit down once to plot a story, had what I thought was a brilliant plot, and never finished writing the book because it bored me.

      My writing is all about discovering the story as I go. My hat is off to all of those who can plot and follow their plot.

      Corners and restarts? Yes, sometimes, but less often when I trust myself and just write 🙂

      One book though, is the product of two big stops and starts, because I realized, the third time I began to stall at about 30-40,000 words, it was all one story, but in three parts.

      Best of luck with your writing, I’m in awe of plotting writers.

      cheers

      Like

  3. Kathryn, I’m so happy to “meet” you and learn about your books. Although I haven’t read your books before, you can bet that I will now. I love books in which the protagonist(s) has/have a psychic ability. I read Jayne Ann Krentz in her various names, and others whose main character has an ESP ability.
    Ruby, thanks for introducing me to Kathryn.

    Like

  4. Hello everyone…. is there where I confess I couldn’t find the comments button? I kept looking at the bottom, then had to go out for the day. I so apologize for not being ‘here’ for you!

    Ruby, thank you so much for sharing my writing with your readers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

